Martha Stewart Theology

Martha Stewart Theology

Most of my spare time for the past two months has been spent in preparation for and promotion of a Kickstarter campaign for Alzheimer Chronicles: The Invisible Poets.  At this point, it will take some serious Divine intervention for the project to successfully fund.  In fact, by the time I finish writing this blog, the campaign will have ended.  Perhaps I’ll be pleasantly surprised.  Probably not.  Anyhow, that’s part of the reason I’m only on chapter two of Rachel Evan’s book, A Year of Biblical Womanhood.

A few years ago, I packed all but the most basic kitchen supplies into Rubbermaid containers and cardboard boxes.  In fact, my husband and I packed up all but the most basic EVERYTHING supplies and stopped fighting the fight to keep our first and only home.  After twelve years of faithfully paying our mortgage, the housing market crashed, and along with it, my husband’s brand new mortgage title company.  Since we started the business on a home equity loan, we were in double trouble.  Shortly after that, I lost my job as administrative assistant at a church for doing what I’m doing right now – blogging.  But that’s another blog for another day.  My point is that as I read chapter two, entitled, “November: Domesticity,” it brought back memories of what it’s like to do the domestic thing.

We’ve been staying in my mother-in-law’s little guest house while I’m finishing school.  The housing market has improved enough that, after two years of odd jobs and some intense job-hunting, Tim was able to find a job in his area of expertise.  I actually have a kitchen now, but it’s only got three small cabinets, the breakfast bar serves as counter space, and there are two small utensil drawers.  I’ve got 2 fry pans and 2 pots.  I’d like to see Rachel Evans try her domestic experiment in my house!  In January, my mother-in-law will be moving, and we are going to buy “the big house” from her.  I’ll have a kitchen again!  Yay!

My favorite line in this chapter is:

This line pretty much sums up the whole chapter for me.

A few paragraphs up, I said, November: Domesticity, brought back memories of what it’s like to do the domestic thing.  But that’s not the only memories this chapter brought back.  I also remember what it’s like to be told you’ll go to hell if you do ________, or if you don’t ________ (fill in the blanks with your choice of millions of different religiously unorthodox ideas).

Rediscovery can be such a wonderful or horrible experience, depending on what it is you’re rediscovering.  When I open my boxes in late January or early February, and I begin unpacking my domesticity, it will be cause for celebration.  Perhaps, I will prepare a Martha Stewart feast.  When I open A Year of Biblical Womanhood, and I begin unpacking old religious concepts like the one below, it becomes cause for mourning.  I mourn for my sisters who are stuck in a system that is STILL HAVING THESE KINDS OF CONVERSATIONS or worse, refusing to ever have them.

It’s easy to think, my God, what planet do they live on?  Don’t they know that You are the Passionate God for Desperate Housewives?  The apostle Paul wrote, “I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love which Christ Jesus our Lord shows us. We can’t be separated by death or life, by angels or rulers, by anything in the present or anything in the future, by forces or powers in the world above or in the world below, or by anything else in creation.”  But somehow, the people who supposedly KNOW God more than anyone else seem to think that all hell will break loose if women wiggle their way out from under the patriarchal thumb.

It’s easy to forget that people still think, believe, and teach stupidity in little church-worlds that only allow people to think, believe, and teach said stupidity so that people like Rachel Evans have to endure a shit-storm of even more stupidity for daring to question stupidity.

If God calls you to be Mrs. Domestic Goddess, then bake and sew and clean and dote on that man, by all means.  If God calls you to do something else, then do it with a clear conscience, no matter what the suits-with-news-anchormen-hairdos say.  God’s heart is not made of paper and ink.  He is Spirit, in us, teaching us.  It’s time to start listening to God.  Pack that religious junk back into the box and put it by the curb, because even GoodWill doesn’t want it.  It’s just a bad memory.  Time to move on, ladies.

Comments
  • Lanny A. Eichert December 5, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    Alice, being convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love is ONLY for those who have a perfect literal Holy Bible. You don’t so don’t go writing about what you don’t have a clue. Your god is pure imagination as well as your savior. Don’t you get it? God wrote the Holy Bible to God’s saints and NOT to the whole world. It is for those who are “in Christ” not the non-elect. The Book is only to comfort and instruct the elect. There is NO SUCH comfort and instructions given to the non-elect. That’s why your universalism falls WITHOUT support. Nowhere in the perfect literal Holy Bible is there any Gospel preached to the physically dead. No good news anywhere, just woes and torments eternally. You’ve never shown me a single person in the Book that was saved AFTER they died not having confessed Christ in mortality. As I had described for you their Second Death experience, they will be so shocked God tossed them as garbage immediately from the Great White Throne Judgment right into the eternal Lake of Fire without a single note of remedy to remember, that they will think of nothing else, but how they got there. They will be confirmed in their unbelief even denying what just happened while they burn in the literal flames.

    Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come. {John 8: 12 & 24} I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

    Alice, if you die in your sins, you never get rid of them, therefore you burn in Hell, then the Lake of Fire forever WITHOUT remedy. There is NO forgiveness AFTER physical death. That’s the whole of Jesus’ statements of dying in your sins. He did NOT preach forgiveness after you die. The provision was made for this life. You can have forgiveness NOW, not later. Physical death ends the offer. You either believe NOW or you burn forever. Stop believing Satan’s lies. Stop telling others your falsehoods.

    • admin December 5, 2012 at 5:17 pm

      I think you may be in Hell, right now, Lanny. As always, thank you for sharing your views.

      • Lanny A. Eichert December 5, 2012 at 5:23 pm

        SO, Alice doesn’t even believe in a literal hell.

        • Sisterlisa December 7, 2012 at 12:59 pm

          it sure looks like she does, Lanny. It’s the literal hell you’re suffering in.

    • Lanny A. Eichert December 5, 2012 at 5:29 pm

      For in death there is no remembrance of thee: in the grave who shall give thee thanks? {Psalm 6: 5}
      let the wicked be ashamed, and let them be silent in the grave. {Psalm 31: 17}
      they are laid in the grave; death shall feed on them {Psalm 49: 14}
      among the dead, like the slain that lie in the grave, whom thou rememberest no more: and they are cut off from thy hand. {Psalm 88: 5}
      Wilt thou shew wonders to the dead? shall the dead arise and praise thee? Selah. Shall thy lovingkindness be declared in the grave? or thy faithfulness in destruction? Shall thy wonders be known in the dark? and thy righteousness in the land of forgetfulness? {Psalm 88: 10 – 12}
      The dead praise not the LORD, neither any that go down into silence. {Psalm 115: 17}
      for there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom, in the grave, whither thou goest. {Ecclesiastes 9: 10}
      For the grave cannot praise thee, death can not celebrate thee: they that go down into the pit cannot hope for thy truth. {Isaiah 38: 18}

    • Sisterlisa December 7, 2012 at 12:42 pm

      Lanny, even in the depths of your hell, God is with you. He doesn’t want you to stay under a rock, he invites you to step up on THE Rock. Try a little grace on for size.

  • Lanny A. Eichert December 5, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    Alice thinks, she doesn’t know. That’s her problem, all becasuse she doesn’t have a perfect literal Holy Bible. Jesus said, Ye worship ye know not what: we know what we worship: for salvation is of the Jews. {John 4: 22} I only wish she’d come to the place this woman eventually did, but it is so very obvious she has not yet. Is it obvious to you, dear reader?

    She wrote: I think you may be in Hell, right now, Lanny. She doesn’t know hell is for dead people: only those who died in their sins. See John 8: 21 & 24. Jesus took away my sins, all of them the moment I believe Him; therefore when I die there will be no sins in me. I cannot die in even one sin; not a one since I believed. All gone since I believed and they stayed gone forever. All hinges on believing as per verse 24, don’t you see that? You can’t see that, can you, without a perfect literal Holy Bible? {the word “bible” has always meant a perfect written standard in America}

    Verse 21
    Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come.
    Verse 24
    I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

    • Sisterlisa December 7, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      Even Jesus told men who are still in tangible flesh that they were ‘tombs of dead mens bones’. You might want to try Alice’s article on METAPHOR.

  • Mary Vanderplas December 5, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    I share your sense of sadness for Christian women who are trapped in relationships characterized by inequality and are convinced that this arrangement reflects God’s will for the relationship between man and woman. I agree that it is especially disturbing when those who operate with this mindset refuse even to consider an alternative viewpoint, condemning anyone who rejects the patriarchal structures that characterized Bible times. I love what you say about God being the “Passionate God for Desperate Housewives” – the One from whose love nothing, including failing to embrace oppressive man-made norms, can separate us. While I agree that it’s a shame that an anti-feminist perspective prevails in “little church-worlds,” I think it’s important to note that not all church-worlds hold this view. In my own denomination, the door to ordination has been open to women for fifty-plus years, and gender equality supported more generally. There are other churches, too, that uphold the equality of the sexes and the partnership of women and men in all areas of life. Granted, compared to the larger culture, the church has lagged behind on this issue. But in at least some church traditions, the old structures of patriarchy have been done away with, and a partnership-of-equals model embraced.

    Perhaps what Paul says in Romans 14:1-23 can be applied to how Christians are to deal with differences on this issue. In light of verse 3, the enlightened, liberated ones who recognize God’s intention of equality (the “strong”) should be careful lest we treat with disdain those who remain mired in the old patterns of inequality (the “weak”) – which for me is a real temptation. Also, the “weak” should not pass judgment on the “strong” – condemning to hell everyone who rejects or challenges what in their view is the “biblical model” for the relationship between man and woman. In light of verse 5 (also 22-23), all should act with sincerity, being true to their own convictions regarding the will of God on this matter – a point that you emphasize.

    I appreciated your sharing of your experience of “domesticity lost.” How great that soon you will be able to reclaim it. I wish you much joy in the process.

    • Lanny A. Eichert December 6, 2012 at 7:47 am

      Mary, how is it perhaps Romans 14:1-23 how Christians are to deal with differences on this issue without 1 Timothy 3: 2?

      A bishop then must be blameless, the husband of one wife, vigilant, sober, of good behaviour, given to hospitality, apt to teach

      I’d like to see how you would have a woman that is the husband of one wife.

      • Lanny A. Eichert December 6, 2012 at 12:58 pm

        Look, Mary, 1 Timothy 3: 2 follows immediately after 1 Timothy 2: 12 – 14.

        But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence. For Adam was first formed, then Eve. And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression.

        What, will you deny this is literally true? The cause for the bishopric limited to the male gender is two fold: the order of human gender creation and the deceiving of the woman.

        Are you intent on sacrificing the authority of the perfect literal Holy Bible for your tradition of the equality of the sexes? That what Pharisees do. That’s what Alice does with reconciling all. Equality is taught, but so is the masculine-only bishopric. The reconciliation of all is taught, but so is the eternal lostness of the majority of humanity. Jesus never confirmed the faith of the Pharisees, so neither will I of you and Alice. ***

        Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come. {John 8: 21 & 24} I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

        When you die in your sins, you never get rid of them, therefore you burn in Hell, then the Lake of Fire forever WITHOUT remedy. There is NO forgiveness AFTER physical death. That’s the whole of Jesus’ statements of dying in your sins. He did NOT preach forgiveness after you die. The provision was made for this life. You can have forgiveness NOW, not later. Physical death ends the offer. You either believe NOW or you burn forever. Stop believing Satan’s lies. Stop telling others your falsehoods. Or would you rather hear Jesus say to you, I profess unto you, I never knew you: depart from me, you that work iniquity. {Matthew 7: 23} That departure is final without an attached remedy: there is no other judgment after the Great White Throne Judgment to reverse the departure. The Lake of Fire is eternal.

        • Sisterlisa December 7, 2012 at 12:56 pm

          “authority of the perfect literal Holy Bible” oh I see… your ‘perfect’ bible put together by fallible human begins (men of course) who CLAIMED God told them what to write? And who claimed God told them women are lesser creatures?
          And whose the authority who told you this was true? The Catholic Church? King James the Tyrant of 1611? Try some history lessons, dear sir.

          Gawd don’t ya just love the hypocrisy here? Eve ate first but ADAM followed along..no back bone. terrific example of a man who should be submitted to eh? But it was ADAM who brought death upon the world, not Eve. Funny how men keep getting this wire crossed.

          • Lanny A. Eichert December 7, 2012 at 7:54 pm

            Lisa, you’ve NOTHING upon which to hang you coat, neither you, nor Alice, nor her friends, but your own speculations hypocritically built upon on a bible you don’t even trust. Can’t you see the nonsense in that?

            The source of Absolute Truth is the perfect literal Holy Bible. You people have no Absolute Truth. Another way of saying that is, if you will have Absolute Truth you will have the perfect literal Holy Bible.

            • admin December 8, 2012 at 10:13 am

              “You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and wit is they that bear witness about me, 40 yet xyou refuse to come to me that you may have life.”

      • Mary Vanderplas December 6, 2012 at 9:09 pm

        The 1 Timothy text reflects the patriarchal, hierarchical social patterns of the first-century Greco-Roman world, not God’s vision of total equality. That God’s intention for the relationship between man and woman – spelled out by Paul in Galatians 3:28 (and seen in the life of Jesus and in the creation narrative in Genesis 1) – was never fully implemented in the New Testament church is plain enough. We should look elsewhere than at texts such as the 1 Timothy text for authoritative guidance for the church today on the issue of the role of women.

        I’m not going to continue discussing this subject with you. It’s obvious that we have radically different views.

      • Sisterlisa December 7, 2012 at 12:58 pm

        I keep wondering about that part ‘must be blameless’, because I only know of one man who was ever blameless and he died and resurrected.

        Jesus..one wife (The Church), vigilant, sober, given to hospitality, apt to teach.

        He’s the only one who qualifies.

  • Patrick Strickland December 6, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Alice I liked your post

    One day all of us will understand that in Christ there is neither male or female, bond or free, Jew or gentile. I can’t wait for all of us to come to that understanding when we will treat each other as true equals in the body of Christ.

    Grace and peace Patrick

    • admin December 6, 2012 at 10:55 pm

      One day… (((sigh)))

    • Lanny A. Eichert December 7, 2012 at 2:58 am

      So, Patrick, why do you still have male body parts and Alice has female body parts if in Christ every human being ever born on the planet Earth is neither male nor female?

      • Patrick Strickland December 15, 2012 at 2:58 pm

        Why are you so concerned with knowing me, or anyone for that fact, just after the flesh? when scripture declares:

        2Co 5:14-20 For the love of Christ constraineth us; because we thus judge, that if one died for all, then were all dead: (15) And that he died for all, that they which live should not henceforth live unto themselves, but unto him which died for them, and rose again. (16) Wherefore FROM NOW ON KNOW WE NO MAN AFTER THE FLESH: yea, though we have known Christ after the flesh, yet now from now on know we him no more. (17) Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creation: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. (18) And all things are out of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation; (19) To wit, that God was in Christ, reconciling the world into himself, not reckoning their trespasses unto them; and hath committed unto us the word of reconciliation. (20) Now then we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God did beseech you by us: we pray you in Christ’s stead, be ye reconciled to God.

        Don’t you know that I am speaking spiritually not literally, when i referenced Galatians let us check out the verse in the bible that you find so offensive.

        Gal 3:26-29 KJV For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus. (27) For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ. (28) There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus. (29) And if ye be Christ’s, then are ye Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise.

        Our natural body parts have nothing to do with being one in Him in the spirit.

        Grace and peace Patrick

  • Lanny A. Eichert December 7, 2012 at 1:48 am

    Mary, Patrick, Alice, there is nothing first-century Greco-Roman world-view about the order of human gender creation and the deceiving of the woman, Eve. Your response is a perfect example of you all forcing your own view upon the Holy Bible as has been your universalism.

    I bet none of you would insist on unisex public toilets/restrooms and the outlawing of gender-specific ones in airports, railroad & bus stations, stadiums, churches, etc.

    • admin December 7, 2012 at 3:29 am

      Metaphor, Lanny. There is no male or female obviously doesn’t mean that our penises and vaginas disappear. Come on, man. You’re argument is really bizarre and a pointless waste of time.

      • Lanny A. Eichert December 7, 2012 at 11:15 am

        There’s NO Metaphor in 1 Timothy 2: 12 – 14 and 3: 2; neither is the whole human race “in Christ.” You all don’t have a clue about what you write. Only God’s saints are “in Christ”; all the rest of the human race is “in Adam” and are the devil’s children, but you don’t have a clue, do you?

        • Lanny A. Eichert December 7, 2012 at 11:36 am

          Only those whose sins are forgiven, dear Alice, before they die physically are “in Christ”. Everybody else dies in their sins, keep them forever, and their persons {souls} burn forever in the Lake of Fire in eternal torments. There is no salvation from the Lake of Fire. You cannot show me one person in the Holy Bible’s 4,000 year historical account that physically died without confessing Christ only to be saved afterward.

          ALL who are “in Christ” God reconciled, so that’s what it means that God reconciles ALL {things} “in Christ”. It is so simple and yet you all make such a big false project of it. You should stop preaching satanic doctrine: it is not Christian.

        • Patrick Strickland December 15, 2012 at 2:18 pm

          Hi Lanny

          How are you doing on this wonderful day that the Lord has made? I myself am doing excellent since I know that the Lord is in me and that I truly know that all things that come into my life are working for His purpose of good in my life which is to conform me into the image of His son.

          You know I do have to agree with you that not all men or women are in Christ right now. But that is as far as I agree with what you have written. But as you know scripture does call this the mystery of his will that at the dispensation of the fulness of time, whenever that occurs in God’s timing, ALL are going to be gathered together in one IN CHRIST Jesus. We were all created in him we all came out of Him and we all will be gathered back into Him.

          Eph 1:9-10 KJV Having made known unto us the mystery of his will, according to his good pleasure which he hath purposed in himself: (10) That in the dispensation of the fulness of times he might gather together in one all things in Christ, both which are in heaven, and which are on earth; even in him:

          When is the mystery of His will going to happen? When every knee bows and every tongue confesses that Jesus Christ is Lord and that confession brings them all INTO the glory. Sounds like after death repentance to me since most men never confessed Him as Lord when they were alive. Besides without the spirit of the Lord no man can say that Jesus is Lord. Everyone will be spirit filled speaking Jesus is Lord and by their confession entering into the glory he possess. No one can be spirit filled without repenting. But that is not all they are confessing In Isaiah all those who are bowing their knee are confessing that in him they have righteousness and strength. Now this is a sworn by God himself that it is going to happen. When God cannot swear by any greater he swears by himself there is no greater guarantee that can be found in all of scripture for whatever He swears by his name that which he has put his name to will absolutely come to pass; what he swears to, will without a doubt happen just like he said!!! If it does not happen then God is now nothing but a liar. Swearing by His name now means nothing. God’s promised word becomes meaningless and completely untrustworthy. What good is a God who swears by himself that every knee will bow and every tongue confess that in him they have righteousness and strength – that through the spirit they say Jesus Christ is Lord if most who make that confession remain burning forever and do not come into righteousness and strength in him and into His glory? Talk about a major contradiction the traditions of men preach as truth. As far as religion is concerned God does not ever get the mystery of His will fulfilled. What a useless untrustworthy liar that God is.

          Now let us talk about the fact that spiritually we all are as believers are both the bride of Christ and the son of God. Spiritually you are both female and male. We as men have to contend with the fact that we are called the bride of Christ and are female in God’s eyes, and the women have to deal with being called sons of God. As the bride of Christ all of us should follow what Paul said to Timothy and keep our opinions to ourselves and not speak them in the church but we should go home and ask our husband Jesus Christ what Scripture means. As the woman we should not usurp Jesus Christ authority in His church by teaching what our opinion is concerning the word of God. The many membered bride of Christ has got together in the different denominations and voted on what they thought truth is without seeking their husband’s opinion on what truth actually was thereby usurping His authority. There may be men naturally literally in the pulpits preaching the word of God but in spiritual reality in most churches it is the woman standing up preaching her opinion of what she thinks truth is. No wonder there is so much confusion in the churches over all the different doctrines out there.

          I agree with Sisterlisa when she said that only Jesus qualifies to be the true bishop who is blameless and the husband of one wife. Peter even bears witness to that fact that he is the bishop of our souls.

          1Pe 2:21-25 KJV For even hereunto were ye called: because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example, that ye should follow his steps: (22) Who did no sin, neither was guile found in his mouth: (23) Who, when he was reviled, reviled not again; when he suffered, he threatened not; but committed himself to him that judgeth righteously: (24) Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed. (25) For ye were as sheep going astray; but are now returned unto the Shepherd and Bishop of your souls.

          Now you can go with just a literal understanding and condemn anyone who does not agree with what you think it says or you can seek to understand what the type and shadow of the literal is actually pointing to the spiritual reality found in Christ Jesus.

          Grace and peace Patrick

      • Lanny A. Eichert December 7, 2012 at 4:41 pm

        Metaphor, Alice, is right and that’s just the reason literal women cannot assume literal male authority: because they still have female body parts including a brain that’s “wired” significantly different from men’s. They think like Eve, who, by messed up thinking, encouraged Adam to follow her into sin. God had enough of that and told Paul to keep women from leadership in His church. That’s God’s word by inspiration: God-breathed.

        God ordained Christ is head of the man and the man is head of the woman.

    • Sisterlisa December 7, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      Lanny,

      This is how your philosophy looks on the other foot http://www.patheos.com/blogs/deaconsbench/2012/11/10-reasons-why-men-shouldnt-be-ordained/

      These two points specifically:
      “4. Pastors need to nurture their congregations. But this is not a traditional male role. Throughout history, women have been recognized as not only more skilled than men at nurturing, but also more fervently attracted to it. This makes them the obvious choice for ordination.
      3. Men are prone to violence. No really masculine man wants to settle disputes except by fighting about them. Thus they would be poor role models as well as dangerously unstable in positions of leadership.”

    • Mary Vanderplas December 7, 2012 at 10:17 pm

      The “order of creation” argument to support the primacy of the man over the woman reflects the traditional rabbinic interpretation of the creation narrative in Genesis 2. It is not consistent with the creation narrative in Genesis 1 – in which, clearly, the equality of the man and the woman is affirmed. Moreover, that the woman was created from the man communicates not that she is inferior to him, but that she is essentially like him (in contrast to the animals, which are not like him).

      The “deceiving of the woman” argument likewise leaves a lot to be desired. In the Genesis 3 text, it is not the woman alone who is deceived. Indeed, the man is present with her throughout the encounter, and therefore cannot be said to be any less responsible than she is. Also, while the author of 1 Timothy interprets this text as saying that only the woman was deceived, in Romans 5:12-21, the emphasis is on the guilt of “Adam” – representing humanity – not just of Eve. And, again, the argument to support the woman’s subjection to the man does not accord with God’s intention in creation (seen in Genesis 1).

      In Galatians 3:28, Paul is saying that old social distinctions no longer count: all persons are equal before God. He is not saying that the two genders are the same.

      This is all I have to say on this subject.

      • admin December 8, 2012 at 10:07 am

        I wish I could remember where I read it, but recently I read an argument that says that the contrast in gender equality between chapter one and chapter two demonstrates that if we structure relationships in the sin nature, we are remaining in deception. When we are told, “In Christ, there is no male or female” it means that we ought to consider the sin nature and the deceptions we have believed and participated in, including gender inequity, as dead. We are restored to the pre-fallen state in Christ, and when we treat each other as equals, we are living the Christ-nature.

        • Mary Vanderplas December 9, 2012 at 1:38 pm

          Yes, yes, I agree. In Christ we are dead to the old ways, freed from the gender stereotypes and deceptions that perpetuate division and prevent true community as male and female. We are enabled to become what God intended us to be when he created humanity in his image – namely, a fellowship of equals. I like your distinction between living according to the sin-nature and living according to the Christ-nature – or, to put it differently, living in the realm of the defeated powers versus living in the realm of God’s victorious grace.

      • Lanny A. Eichert December 10, 2012 at 4:06 am

        Foolish logic: refuse 1 Timothy while accepting Galatians. So is their rejection of the Holy Bible which concludes with a populated Lake of Fire without remedy. They have a fragmented book they don’t even respect and yet they build their opinions on it calling their opinions truth and reason. How is that?

        • admin December 10, 2012 at 11:51 am

          The consistency of the book is there, in a round-about way. For example, look at the movie 12 Angry Men. At the beginning, it seems pretty obvious that the guy is guilty. By the end, it seems pretty obvious that he’s not guilty. What we see in the book depends on what biases we are bringing to the table when we examine the book. God uses the book to help us discover what comes from Him and what comes from the authors. His truth transcends the cold “facts” recorded on the pages by people who had their own ideas about Who God is and what God does.

          • Lanny A. Eichert December 10, 2012 at 3:03 pm

            Alice, don’t you see what you say? God uses the book to help US discover what comes from Him and what comes from the authors. What comes from the authors is just the readers’ opinions. Your statement says US: see. It is YOUR wisdom, YOUR discovery that makes the decision. You elevate your own judgment against the Holy Bible and become its judge. What standard do you use to know if your “discovery” is valid? Your own common sense? What makes your discovery superior to somebody else’s? Personal revelations from God? How do you know they are from God and not from Satan? Your feelings? Don’t you see how you have a purely subjective bible without any assurity of Absolute Truth? You have NO Absolute Truth. You have NO God. Psalms 14: 1 & 53: 1.

            Seriously, Alice, “in a round-about way”? A round-about way YOU must discover by YOUR OWN wisdom.

            The Lord knoweth the thoughts of the wise, that they are vain. {1 Corinthians 3: 20} Empty hot air, Alice, nonsubmissive to the wisdom of God. You have no Absolute Truth, therefore you have no absolute salvation either. All you have is your own wise vain opinion. God said He knows that, so that’s why He gave us a perfect literal Holy Bible telling is what is Absolute Truth; 1 Timothy 2: 12 – 14 is Absolute Truth and the basis for 3: 2, so either embrace the Biblical model … or reject it and plummet over the cliff to eternal torment that never had, has, nor will have a remedy.

            Alice, you and yours, get Absolute Truth or else you all will die in your sins without God and without hope. Right now you have NO Absolute Truth. See to it and fear. Fear enough to seek for it.

            • admin December 12, 2012 at 11:56 pm

              What comes from the authors are words on a page – words that contain the truth revealed by God to the author, interpreted through the author’s cognitive-cultural-social-psychological-emotional-physical filter, translated and mistranslated over a very long period of time, included or excluded form the cannon according to the whim of a group of murderous power-hungry men. Nevertheless, the truth persists like a thread woven through the tapestry of the human experiences recorded in the book.

              The reader’s opinions may come from the reader, or they may come from God’s revelation through His Spirit. The book may be opened but not “open” to the reader, if the Spirit doesn’t cause the truth to be revealed to the reader.

              The standard I use to know if a discovery is valid is the Spirit of God and other believers (iron sharpens iron), and yes, common sense figures into the equation as well.

              There is no such thing as “my discovery” versus “someone else’s” discovery, ultimately. There is truth. People discover the truth as the Spirit of God reveals it to them. That we have different ideas about the truth demonstrates that we are imperfect human beings. The contest is between truth and error, if there is a contest, and the battle happens inside the person is the Spirit of God separates what is Adam and what is Christ in each of us. As we discuss, debate, compare, contrast, and explore our opposing views, the Spirit of God does His thing. I’m okay with that. I’d rather say I’m always right, but that would be the Adam-self talking.

              Revelations from God versus revelations from Satan – Sometimes it takes a while, first sowing, then reaping. If you sow what seems to be wheat and what grows are tares, then you know that what you sow isn’t from God, but from the flesh (or as you say, Satan): “because he who is sowing to his own flesh, of the flesh shall reap corruption; and he who is sowing to the Spirit, of the Spirit shall reap life age-during.” Here’s another scripture to demonstrate this point: “…be not conformed to this age, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, for your proving what is the will of God – the good, and acceptable, and perfect.” Notice the word “proving” – 1381 dokimázō (from 1384 /dókimos, “approved”) – properly, to try (test) to show something is acceptable (real, approved); put to the test to reveal what is good (genuine). Is the “discovery” or potential “truth” ultimately good? acceptable? perfect? Or is it bad? unacceptable? imperfect? Sometimes revelation takes a while, because the layers of error are removed with the testing of the revelation. You can’t just believe what you’ve been taught to believe by the experts. Jesus told religious experts – “You are in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God.” He asked, “Have you not read?” Of course, Jesus knew that they read, but He’s talking about a different kind of reading. They KNEW the Scriptures better than everyone else, but it didn’t do them any good, because the book was closed to them. They were blind to the truth of God even though they had dedicated their lives to the knowing and living according to the writings. They did not know the power of God.

              You write, “Don’t you see how you have a purely subjective bible without any assurity of Absolute Truth? You have NO Absolute Truth. You have NO God.” This is how I know who I am in Christ, “By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” I have love for others, the kind of love that puts to death my Adam-self. That’s why you can say you HATE me, and I don’t tell you to go f*** yourself. I see you as Christ sees you. I may not have a perfect understanding of all truths, but I do know Christ, the Truth. Since He is in me, I have no fear whatsoever of falling over that eternal cliff you mention. Nothing can separate me from His love.

              • Lanny A. Eichert December 13, 2012 at 2:04 am

                Alice, why don’t you apply what Jesus said about a hateful thought being murder and a lustful look being adultery to your statement about refusing to be vulgar to me? You say that proves you are “in Christ”? You even censored yourself !!! That proves more than just not being a perfect Alice. Your written words both here in the comments as well as in the blogs are not Christian words and ideas. They are antichristian words and ideas. They lack conformity to the literal perfect Holy Bible and there’s no better proof of that than your refusal to accept Paul’s written God-breathed Scripture {2 Timothy 3: 16} on the masculine-only bishopric of God’s Church {1 Timothy 3: 2 & 2: 12 – 14} and the silencing of church women {1 Corinthians 14: 34} for decency {last verse}. Peter demonstrates Paul knew he was writing Scripture in 2 Peter 3: 15 & 16, Peter, himself, classing Paul’s written words, epistles, with “the other Scriptures”. Don’t let Mary lead you astray. Pay attention to the end of verse 16.

                As of now, you still lack Absolute Truth, dear Alice. Get Absolute Truth or else you all will die in your sins without God and without hope. See to it and fear. Fear enough to seek for it.

                • admin December 15, 2012 at 6:46 pm

                  I don’t think it, either, Lanny. I just recognize that without Christ, I probably would. In other words, Christ in me overcomes that sort of thing. I rarely ever think that way any more, and if I do, it is momentary. In that case I am immediately overcome with love – it’s a quick reminder of who I used to be and am not any more.

              • Lanny A. Eichert December 13, 2012 at 4:21 am

                when ye received the word of God which ye heard of us, ye received it not as the word of men, but as it is in truth, the word of God {1 Thessalonians 2: 13}

                People who receive the Holy Bible this way are able to use it this way:

                Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God. {Matthew 4: 4}

                Look, Alice, 2: 13 is literally the preaching of the Apostle Paul and his evangelistic team, but the writings of the prophets and apostles are also “the word of God” which makes up the whole Bible and is to be received “not as the word of men, but as it is in truth, the word of God” with “every word” counted as breathed from the very mouth of God.

                All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works. {2 Timothy 3: 16 & 17} You know “by inspiration of God” is literally “God-breathed” word by word, because truths are revealed by words, dear Alice.

                Because you have no desire to be submissive to it, you manufacture your god impotent of putting together a complete Book void of spurious writings and errors. You defame the Book as a production of a group of murderous power-hungry men, not knowing that God, who watched those same kind of men put Jesus on the cross, is certainly always preserving a word-perfect copy for His saints throughout all times and seasons. I asked you questions about how many copies were produced before Jesus read the Scriptures when He walked the earth and certified them perfect and what He said about future copies? I asked you to consider the accuracy of all the prophecies of His first advent without a single misspelled word. Why will you not believe in a perfectly preserved paper and ink Holy Bible, especially in OUR scientific age of discoveries and computer tools? The Holy Bible is the most attested historical document of all written documents by the design of God because He considered it invaluable to His most prized creatures, keeping it in constant circulation always somewhere on the earth. It is an indestructibly perfect Book.

                Without the perfect literal Holy Bible you cannot have Absolute Truth and you will die in your sins without God and without hope in eternal torments.

        • Lanny A. Eichert December 11, 2012 at 12:08 am

          Alice, Mary said Galatians 3:28 was never fully implemented in the New Testament church is plain enough, because she at least recognizes Paul wrote Galatians before he wrote the pastoral epistles to Timothy and Titus. Don’t you see she has it all wrong and all you have do do is read the Corinthian epistle {1 Corinthians 14: 34} to see the folly in the most broadminded of churches caused by women speaking in tongues because they thought they had equality and liberty. Paul had to purposely shut them up: Let all things be done decently and in order. {last verse}

          Mary’s idea is Mary’s idea and NOT the dictates of God.

          Beside those things that are without, that which cometh upon me daily, the care of all the churches. {2 Corinthians 11: 28} God burdened Paul with these cares and inspired him to do something about it according to the perfect will of God given to him by inspiration and revelation.

          There is no source of Absolute Truth knowable to mankind outside the perfect literal Holy Bible. True, God has revealled Himself in nature {creation}, but that is incomplete without the Bible to interpret nature. It is not that the Bible helps us interpret nature; it is the Bible does interpret nature for us. God gave us the answers we need by giving us His paper and ink Book.

          According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue {2 Peter 1: 3} If you don’t heed it, you die in your sins and perish in eternal torments.

          • admin December 12, 2012 at 10:52 pm

            Paul didn’t believe God included Gentiles until God revealed it to him. Did this mean that God didn’t include Gentiles during the time period that Paul was unaware of it? Not likely. So it is with these erroneous ideas about women. That’s how I see it, anyhow.

            • Lanny A. Eichert December 13, 2012 at 1:02 am

              Alice: Not likely & how Alice sees it. Hasn’t Lanny told you: right now there no Absolute Truth for Alice to know that she knows that she knows. It is all her opinion, which lacks any certainty of truth.

              Absolute Truth, Alice?

              • admin December 15, 2012 at 6:47 pm

                Jesus Christ, Lanny.

                • Lanny A. Eichert December 15, 2012 at 7:51 pm

                  I told you you can’t know Him without the perfect literal Holy Bible, which you refuse as such; therefore your absolute truth jesus christ is mere unknown tongues and you have deceived yourself thinking you can know him somehow.

            • Lanny A. Eichert December 13, 2012 at 4:54 am

              Alice, you mean to say Paul NEVER corrected his “erroneous ideas about women”? When did the Church get corrected from Paul’s “erroneous ideas about women”? How did that happen?

              • admin December 15, 2012 at 6:41 pm

                Apparently, it still hasn’t – at least not in the institution. There are a few exceptions, of course.

                • Lanny A. Eichert December 15, 2012 at 7:45 pm

                  It hasn’t and never will, because it is not the will of God, which is specified in the texts I gave. God’s church leadership is limited to men and women are forbidden as saith the Scriptures. Liberal churches allow women clegy and homosexual clergy because they are not bound by the perfect literal Holy Bible and therefore they preach a social gospel void of the blood of Christ’s cross and real conversion resulting in new life.

        • Lanny A. Eichert December 12, 2012 at 3:45 pm

          Is there no Absolute Truth for Alice to know that she knows that she knows?

  • Sisterlisa December 7, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    hahaha “There is no male or female obviously doesn’t mean that our penises and vaginas disappear. ” no kidding!

    I love Rachel’s book. I wrote a review on my blog.

    The women in Stacy McDonald’s clan are in a rut of competition over who can be the most submissive, all playing right into the devil’s snare of bondage.

  • […] This is the fourth blog post in a series reviewing Rachel Evans’ book, A Year of Biblical Womanhood.  (Here are the other three blogs, if you want to have a look: Three-Thousand-Year-Old Inferiority Complex, Girl Gone Mild, and Martha Stewart Theology.) […]

  • Eshet Chayil « www.whatgoddoes.com March 18, 2013 at 12:38 am

    […] blogs, if you want to have a look: Three-Thousand-Year-Old Inferiority Complex, Girl Gone Mild, Martha Stewart Theology, Obedience: My Husband, My Master, and Bird’s Eye View of Rachel Evans’ […]

  • […] blogs, if you want to have a look: Three-Thousand-Year-Old Inferiority Complex, Girl Gone Mild, Martha Stewart Theology, Obedience: My Husband, My Master, Bird’s Eye View of Rachel Evans’ Book, and Eshet […]

  • […] blogs, if you want to have a look: Three-Thousand-Year-Old Inferiority Complex, Girl Gone Mild, Martha Stewart Theology, Obedience: My Husband, My Master, Bird’s Eye View of Rachel Evans’ Book, Eshet Chayil, […]

  • […] posts, if you want to have a look: Three-Thousand-Year-Old Inferiority Complex, Girl Gone Mild, Martha Stewart Theology, Obedience: My Husband, My Master, Bird’s Eye View of Rachel Evans’ Book, Eshet Chayil, My […]

  • Post a comment

    Threaded commenting powered by interconnect/it code.